2 Girls, 1 cup; A pool without a ladder

I remember this documentary I watched about sex; I was about 18/19ish. The host interviewed teenage boys while they showed her 2 girls 1 cup, which I had only just seen myself. I thought “I know I don’t want to see this. I know this will only make reality slightly worse from now on, like Etgar Keret’s version of limbo”, but inevitably I was forced to watch it by my friends. All I can say about this experience is I was right all along.

So the children show her the clip, and the woman later shows the clip to the children’s parents. Their reaction was upsetting. I was expecting rage or disgust, and yeah, there was a bit of that. But mostly the parents were upset. Distressed. Worried. It was a revelation – an unveiling of the secret world parents aren’t meant to see, because I suppose we’re scared that if they see that world, they’ll love us less. Or not at all.

 

I was explaining to my mother about how, when Sims 4 came out, there was certain outrage about their not being a pool-builder (it was soon added after upset). This required me to explain the dynamics of killing your sims in a pool by building one with a diving board but no ladder. This also required me to explain that killing your sims was a thing that pretty much everyone did at some point, and that there were various ways to do so on purpose.

What she saw was this: part of the enjoyment of the game is killing your sim. This is not untrue. But what I meant was this: it’s not about the killing, but about what the swimming pool and the killing represents in Sims culture – it’s a staple, a symbol of its heritage. And it’s an option of game play.

 

I guess these two stories are different, but in a way they are kind of the same.

Leave a Reply

